DWI/DUI - Drunk Driving Laws And Attorneys In North Dakota
|A comprehensive guide to drunk
driving laws, penalties, fines and
© Copyright 2008 Enticing Designs Inc.
NORTH DAKOTA DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DWI)
Upon receiving your license to operate a motor vehicle in North Dakota,
you have given your consent to a chemical test to determine the level of
alcohol and / or drug content in your blood, breath, urine, or saliva. If you
refuse to take the test, your license will be revoked for one year to four
If a chemical test reveals that you have eight one-hundredths of one
percent (.08%) or greater of alcohol in your blood, or .02% if under the
age of 21, you are considered legally to be under the influence of alcohol.
There are two separate penalties in North Dakota involved under the
DUI law. One is an administrative license penalty, the other is a court
conviction penalty. Your driving privileges may be suspended through
either or both processes. By North Dakota law, under the administrative
penalty, if you are arrested for DUI, the arresting officer will take your
operator’s license then and there.
If you refuse to take either an AC test or a roadside preliminary breath
test (PBT), your license will be revoked for one year to four years.
If you have an alcohol concentration (AC) of .08 percent or more or .02
percent or more if you are under age 21, your license will be suspended
a) 91days, if BAC is .08 to .17 in five years
b) 180 days, BAC .18 or greater in five years
a) 365 days, BAC under .18 in five years
b) 2 years, BAC .18 or greater in five years
Third Or More Offenses:
a) 2 years, BAC .08 to .17 in five years
b) 3 years, BAC .18 to greater in five years
The license plates and registration card for your vehicle may be
impounded for the length of the suspension/revocation.
These are just the minimum penalties.
First Conviction: $250 fine.
Second Conviction Within Five Years: $500 fine and five days in jail or
30 days, community service work.
Third Conviction Within Five Years: $1,000 fine and 60 days in jail.
Fourth Conviction Within Seven Years: $1,000 fine and 180 days in jail.
In addition, all convicted offenders are required to submit to a mandatory
alcohol addiction evaluation and complete any recommended treatment.
In addition to the minimum penalties for DUI, if you are involved in a
crash and because a serious injury to another, you will spend an
additional 90 days in jail. If you cause the death of another, your time in
jail is extended by one year.
Driving Under Suspension
There are harsh penalties for driving while your license is suspended or
revoked after an alcohol-related violation. There is a 4 day mandatory
minimum jail sentence and a fine of up to $1,000.
Work permits can only be issued to first time offenders after serving at
least 30 days of suspension. Work permits cannot be given to repeat
offenders or to those who refuse to take an AC or PBT test.